

## The 2016 Nobel Prize in Chemistry ERC President congratulates the laureates

5 October 2016

Today the Royal Swedish Academy of Sciences announced that the Nobel Prize in Chemistry for 2016 has been awarded to Professors Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa for "for the design and synthesis of molecular machines". All three laureates have participated in EU-funded research projects, and Bernard Feringa is also a recipient of two European Research Council (ERC) grants.

On this occasion, ERC President Prof. Jean-Pierre Bourguignon said: "On behalf of the European Research Council, I would like to extend our warm congratulations to this year's Nobel laureates in Chemistry, Jean-Pierre Sauvage, Sir J. Fraser Stoddart and Bernard L. Feringa, announced today. It's a happy day for Europe. The ERC is very proud to have funded Professor Bernard Feringa through Advanced Grants in 2008 and 2015. He is the sixth ERC grantee to win this prestigious prize, which is thrilling for the ERC, set up only nine years ago. Through a highly competitive selection based on scientific quality alone, over 6,500 researchers have seen their ambitious projects funded thus far. Today's news again confirms that the ERC's commitment to pioneering research across Europe represents a highly successful investment for science and for Europe as a whole."

## See also

European Commission news alert on the 2016 Chemistry Nobel Prize Background on Bernard Feringa and his ERC research

## For more information

Nobel Prize announcement

ERC website

EU Horizon 2020 programme

